Canada NOC 2021

Migrate Canada » Express Entry » Canada NOC 2021

Canada NOC Changes 2021

Canada NOC 2021

Canada’s National Occupational Classification is a method that the country has used to manage its economy and labor market. It is an important and necessary piece of Canada’s immigration process. NOC is the way Canada has chosen to manage its job market and the job market associated with those immigrating to the country.

The NOC has primarily used the categorization of skill levels. Those coming to the country must demonstrate they have the certain skill level required to apply for the program they are interested in.

The main groups and skill types have been classified as follows:

Skill Type 0- Management jobs

Skill Level A- Professional jobs that usually require a degree from an accredited university

Skill Level B- Technical jobs and trade jobs that usually require a college diploma or training certificate or apprenticeship

Skill level C- Jobs that usually require high school or job-specific training

Skill Level D – Labor heavy jobs that usually offer on-the-job training

Express entry is the primary way to immigrate to Canada because of work or as a skilled worker. Those using this method of express immigration must be able to show that they have the skills and work experience that are included in the NOC levels 0, A, or B. Those using other methods of immigration may be required to meet different NOC categories to successfully move to Canada. This method of categorization helps the country efficiently manage its immigration and foreign worker programs. The NOC provides valuable research data that allows the country to make annual adjustments to the labor market and government programs. The data gathered from research that is completed by the NOC helps the government promote skill training and development for certain categories of job types that need more employees.



Canada NOC Changes 2021

The NOC is looked over every year to make sure that all information and skill levels are relevant. It is moderately updated every five years and then is completely overhauled every ten years to stay as up to date as possible. The last overhaul took place in 2011, so 2021 was the year to really scrutinize and make large changes to the current categorization. The new changes will be implemented in 2022.

Because NOC 2021 was an overhaul year, the categories have been completely changed and updated to an entirely new system of categorization. Instead of the previous 0, A, B, C, and D skill levels, the government is introducing a categorization called TEER.



Canada TEER

TEER stands for training, education, experience, and responsibilities. While the previous system focused on skills and skill levels, this new categorization will focus on the training, education, and experience that is required to perform well and work in certain occupations. They hope that this new system will more accurately define the skills and experience that are necessary for each type of occupation.

The new TEER levels are defined as follows:

Teer 0 – Management Occupations

Teer 1 – Completed a specific university degree OR several years of validated experience in occupation from TEER category 2

Teer 2 – Completion of a post-secondary education program of two to three years at a community college, school of technology, or CEGEP, or completion of a training program or apprenticeship over the course of two to five years; OR several years experience in a job covered in category 3

Teer 3- Completion of a post-secondary program that lasted less than two years OR apprenticeship training under two years OR more than six months of on the job training OR training courses for a specific occupation with some secondary education completed OR several years of validated experience in a TEER 4 category occupation

Teer 4 – Completion of secondary school OR several weeks of on the job training with some secondary school completed OR several years of validated experience in a category 5 job

Teer 5 – no formal education requirements



Express Entry Changes with Canada NOC 2021

When this new NOC program is implemented, most immigration and foreign worker candidates will not be affected. If their work experience met the criteria for their desired immigration program before, it will likely still meet the requirements for the desired program after the changes are implemented. However, despite some candidates and applicants not being affected by this program, some will be helped and some may be hurt by the changes. Some may find that they now meet the requirements for more programs than they did before.

Some will find that they are no longer eligible for the programs that they were looking at before the program was implemented. The TEER program hopes to clear up previous confusion on the education required to work in certain occupations or programs. They hope that this new overhaul will provide a better overview of the skills, experience, and training required to meet the needs of certain occupations.

Skip to toolbar